Saturday, August 8, 2015

"hope harbor" by irene hannon

Fans of Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove series will want to check out Irene Hannon's Hope Harbor!

Come home to Hope Harbor--where hearts heal . . . and love blooms.

Tracy Campbell never wanted to leave Hope Harbor, Oregon, or the idyllic three-generation cranberry farm where she grew up. But life--and love--altered her plans. Now she's home again--with a floundering farm to run . . . a tragic secret . . . and a wounded heart. Romance is not on her agenda. Nor is it on Michael Hunter's. The visitor from Chicago has daunting secrets and devastating regrets of his own. But when Tracy recruits him to help with a project that is close to her heart, winds of change begin to sweep through Hope Harbor, bringing healing, hope, and love to countless lives--including their own.

The instant I started reading Hope Harbor, I was reminded of Cedar Cove, the setting of many of Debbie Macomber's books (and the Hallmark Channel series of the same name). I love the Cedar Cove world, so the comparison is quite favorable. 

Hope Harbor is the story of three hurting people: Michael and Tracy, who both lost their spouses and carry a lot of guilt over their roles in the deaths, and Anna, who became a recluse after becoming estranged from her son. Though none are particularly ready to allow anyone else in, God (often through taco truck owner Charley) keeps throwing them together in ways that can't help but spur healing.

The novel moves fairly slowly, but it never becomes boring. Though there are serious subjects in the novel, the tone is light and breezy and warm. I did wish for more time with some of the other residents of Hope Harbor: one scene near the end of the novel involving Reverend Baker and Father Kevin, the town's two clergymen, had me snickering, and I wish their personalities had a chance to come through earlier on. Hopefully they, as well as other minor characters, will become more prominent in future novels. The next novel in the Hope Harbor series releases next summer, and you can bet I'll be looking for it! 4-1/2 stars.

Buy the book.
Read an excerpt. 

Irene Hannon is the bestselling author of more than forty-five romantic suspense and contemporary romance/women's fiction novels, including the Heroes of Quantico, Guardians of Justice, and Private Justice series, along with That Certain Summer and One Perfect Spring. Her books have garnered dozens of honors, including two coveted RITA Awards from Romance Writers of America. She is also a two-time Christy Award finalist.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell through the Revell Reads program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. Also, some of the links in the post above are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising." 


  1. YES! I love Cedar Cove too (the TV show, haven't read the books)!!!!! You and I have so much in common!
    Adding this to my wish list.

    1. I think you'll like it! As for Cedar Cove, I haven't read any of the first Cedar Cove series, but I've read a couple of the novels in Macomber's Rose Harbor series, which is set in Cedar Cove. So characters like Jack, Olivia, and Grace show up from time to time, but they're not the focus of the novels.

      Cedar Cove the TV show is like a clean soap opera--so much drama!--but I love it :-)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...