Friday, June 24, 2016

"sins of the past" by henderson, pettrey, and eason

Three masters of romantic suspense unite for a novella collection featuring characters whose past comes back to haunt them.

In Dee Henderson's Missing, a Wyoming sheriff is called to Chicago when his elderly mother goes missing. Paired with a savvy Chicago cop, the two realize her disappearance is no accident, and a race against the clock begins.

Dani Pettrey returns to Alaska with Shadowed, introducing readers to the parents of her beloved McKenna clan. Adventure, romance, and danger collide when a young fisherman nets the body of an open-water swimming competitor who may actually be a possible Russian defector.

Lynette Eason's Blackout delivers the story of a woman once implicated in a robbery gone wrong. The loot has never been found--but her memory of that night has always been unreliable. Can she remember enough to find her way to safety when the true culprit comes after her?

As is often the case with novella collections, the contents are a mixed bag. Some novellas I loved, and others were just so-so.

Missing by Dee Henderson: I started reading Henderson's romantic suspense in college, and I absolutely devoured her O'Malley series. This is the first of her writing that I've read in probably close to ten years, and I have to say, I didn't really enjoy it. The story is fine—John returns to Chicago when his mother goes missing, and he begins working with Chicago cop Sharon to find her. The mystery was intriguing, and though I did accurately guess who had John's mother, I was way off on the motive. The problem for me was that Henderson told the reader that John and Sharon were falling for each other, but it was all talk—there was a lack of emotion that made me not buy the two romantically. 2-1/2 stars.

Shadowed by Dani Pettrey: Pettrey's Alaskan Courage series featuring the McKenna family is one of my favorite series of all time, so I was thrilled to dive into the love story of Ben McKenna and Libby Jennings, who would later become the parents of the McKenna tribe. (They are long dead by the time the Alaskan Courage series begins, so it was nice to meet them.) The mystery surrounds the murder of one of Libby's swimming competitors, and as Libby and Ben investigate, they find their lives in danger. For me, the love story was a bit rushed, but the suspense was spot on. And, as always, Pettrey's writing was excellent. 4 stars.

Blackout by Lynette Eason: Of the three novellas included in this collection, Blackout is by far my favorite. Macey survived being shot and buried alive as a teenager, but her memories of that tragic night have been dim at best. When she finally starts remembering, she becomes a target. Macey's next door neighbor Chad, a police detective, helps her search for the person who is after her, but the closer they get to the truth, the more dangerous things become. Eason is known for her high-octane suspense, and Blackout certainly lives up to her reputation! Also, the romance in this novella doesn't feel rushed (as the two are friends prior to the novel's beginning), which lent an air of believability to the story. 5 stars.

Overall, I enjoyed Sins of the Past, and, while I definitely connected with some novellas more than others, I think most fans of romantic suspense will enjoy this collection. 4 stars.

Buy the book.
Read my reviews of Pettrey's Alaskan Courage series Submerged (4-1/2 stars), Shattered (5 stars), Stranded (4-1/2 stars), Silenced (5 stars), Sabotaged (4-1/2 stars); and Cold Shot (5 stars).
Read my reviews of Eason's Nowhere to Turn (4 stars) and No Place to Hide (4 stars).

Dee Henderson is the author of numerous novels, including Taken, Undetected, Unspoken, Full Disclosure, and the acclaimed O'Malley and Uncommon Heroes series. Her books have won or been nominated for several prestigious industry awards, such as the RITA Award, the Christy Award, and the ECPA Gold Medallion. Dee is a lifelong resident of Illinois. Learn more at

Dani Pettrey is a wife, home-schooling mom, and the acclaimed author of the Alaskan Courage romantic suspense series, which includes her bestselling novels Submerged, Shattered, Stranded, Silenced, and Sabotaged. Her books have been honored with the Daphne du Maurier award, two HOLT Medallions, two National Readers' Choice Awards, the Gail Wilson Award of Excellence, and Christian Retailing's Best Award, among others.  

She feels blessed to write inspirational romantic suspense because it incorporates so many things she loves--the thrill of adventure, nail-biting suspense, the deepening of her characters' faith, and plenty of romance. She and her husband reside in Maryland, where they enjoy time with their two daughters, a son-in-law, and a super adorable grandson. You can find her online at

Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of the Women of Justice series, the Deadly Reunions series, and the Hidden Identity series, as well as Always Watching and Without Warning in the Elite Guardians series. She is the winner of an ACFW Carol Award, the Selah Award, and the Inspirational Readers' Choice Award. She has a master's degree in education from Converse College and lives in South Carolina. Learn more at

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free for review from Dani Pettrey and Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. Also, some of the links in the post above are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...