Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Review: "Enchanting Nicholette" by Dawn Crandall

After Dawn Crandall's The Cautious Maiden released two years ago, I assumed The Everstone Chronicles had reached their end. But then Crandall announced that Enchanting Nicholette would continue the story, so of course I had to read it ­čÖé.

In this captivating novella by Dawn Crandall, Nicholette Everstone is already a widow at the age of twenty-two: her husband was murdered on their wedding day. She has just returned to Boston after two years of mourning in Europe. Although her husband was loving, the marriage was an arranged one, and Nicholette would like to wed again--this time for love...and to someone safe.

As she acclimates to life in Back Bay again, Nicholette meets someone she can't help but fall for. But when she learns of the danger and sacrifices Cal Hawthorne takes on for the safety of others, will her heart be strong enough to keep her fears of "what if" at bay?

In between reading Dawn Crandall's books, I always forget how much I enjoy her writing style! The first person point of view from the heroine's perspective is not one I often see in historical fiction, and I so enjoy it in Crandall's novels.

I loved watching Nicholette and Cal grow closer as Nicholette decided that loving again just might be worth the risk. Crandall knows how to write chemistry, and Nicholette and Cal have it in spades!

There's also a fairly lengthy epilogue that both wraps up Nicholette & Cal's story and provides a check-in with the couples from previous Everstone Chronicles novels. This epilogue wasn't present in the version of Enchanting Nicholette that appeared in the Timeless Love anthology, and its addition is quite welcome.

Enchanting Nicholette is such an enjoyable return to the world of the Everstones, and it's a great conclusion to the series! 4-1/2 stars.

Buy the book.
Read my reviews of other books in The Everstone Chronicles: The Hesitant Heiress (4 stars), The Bound Heart (5 stars), The Captive Imposter (4 stars), and The Cautious Maiden (4 stars).

Dawn Crandall is an ACFW Carol Award-nominated author of the award winning series The Everstone Chronicles, which consists of five books: The Hesitant Heiress, The Bound Heart, The Captive Imposter, The Cautious Maiden, and Enchanting Nicholette.

Apart from writing, Dawn is also a mom of two little ones and serves with her husband in a premarital mentorship program at their local church in Fort Wayne, Indiana.

A graduate of Taylor University with a degree in Christian Education and a former bookseller at Barnes & Noble, Dawn Crandall didn't begin writing until 2010 when her husband found out about her long-buried dream. It didn't take her long to realize that writing books was what she was made to do.

Dawn is a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers, the secretary for the Indiana ACFW Chapter (Hoosier Ink), and an associate member of the Great Lakes ACFW Chapter. She is represented by Joyce Hart of Hartline Literary Agency.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review, and the opinions I have expressed are my own. Also, some of the links in this post are affiliate links. This means if you click the link and make a purchase, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...