Sunday, September 4, 2016

"you're the one that i want" by susan may warren

I've had You're the One that I Want in my possession for several months now, but I just finally got around to reading it. Why? Because I have adored Susan May Warren's Christiansen Family series, and this is the final book. I just didn't want the journey to end!

Owen Christiansen has been in a downward spiral since an injury ended his NHL career. But a job on an Alaskan crabbing boat offers a fresh start . . . maybe even a shot at romance with Elise “Scotty” McFlynn, the captain’s daughter.

Used to being one of the guys, to never relying on anyone, Scotty doesn’t believe in happily ever after―especially with someone like Owen. Her instinct is confirmed when Casper Christiansen arrives to drag his prodigal brother home, bringing with him a truckload of family drama―and even worse, the news that Casper is wanted for questioning in connection to a crime back in Minnesota.

But Owen is more than the sum of his mistakes, a truth both he and Scotty discover when she escorts both brothers to Deep Haven as part of her new job on the Anchorage police force. Thrust into an unfamiliar world of family, faith, and fresh starts, Scotty begins to see potential for a happy ending . . . if she’s brave enough to embrace it.

You're the One that I Want is Owen Christiansen's story. Owen, the prodigal son, the family black sheep, the character I most disliked throughout the series. Yet, in a testament to Warren's great writing, as I began the book, I found myself rooting for—and even really, really liking—Owen!

While the book focuses on Owen and Scotty's relationship, it also ties up loose ends from the other Christiansen books—especially regarding Casper. I was surprised to find that I was not "Team Casper" for most of the novel ... and that brings up something that I've greatly appreciated about the Christiansen Family series: the Christiansens are most definitely not perfect, even after a "come to Jesus" moment. The characters mess up—sometimes in major ways—yet they remain a family and love each other, while also not excusing bad behavior. This is especially evident as the family deals with the fallout of both Owen's and Casper's actions throughout the series.

Not only is You're the One that I Want a fabulous conclusion to the Christiansen Family novels, but the entire series is wonderful, and I highly recommend all of the books! 5 stars.

Note: This series is one that is best read in order. Start with Take a Chance on Me, and then work your way through the rest. This is one of my favorite series of all time!

Buy the book.
Read my reviews of other Christiansen family novels: When I Fall in Love (5 stars); Evergreen, a Christiansen family novella (5 stars); Always on My Mind (5 stars); and The Wonder of You (5 stars).

Susan May Warren is the ECPA and CBA bestselling author of over fifty novels, with more than one million books sold. Winner of a RITA Award and multiple Christy and Carol Awards, as well as the HOLT and numerous Readers' Choice Awards, Susan has written contemporary and historical romances, romantic suspense, thrillers, romantic comedy, and novellas. She can be found online at, on Facebook at SusanMayWarrenFiction, and on Twitter @susanmaywarren.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I purchased this book myself and reviewed it by choice. The opinions I have expressed are my own. Also, some of the links in the post above are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase an item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...