Monday, July 9, 2018

Review: "Dead Drift" by Dani Pettrey

I've really loved Dani Pettrey's Chesapeake Valor series, and it ends as it began—with a truly excellent story!

Burning debris littering the ground . . . smoke pluming in the acrid air . . . this is just the beginning if he fails.

Seven years ago, operative Luke Gallagher vanished to become part of an elite team set on capturing a deadly terrorist. When Luke returns to face those he left behind, their help becomes his only hope of stopping his target's latest threat of an attack that would shake America to its core.

Private investigator Kate Maxwell never stopped loving or looking for Luke after he disappeared. But she also never imagined he left her or his life by choice. Now he's back, and together they must unravel a twisting thread of secrets, lies, and betrayal, all while on the brink of a biological disaster. 

Will they and their love survive, or will Luke and Kate become the terrorist's next mark?

Dead Drift is a fast paced, thrilling conclusion to the Chesapeake Valor series. Pettrey skillfully wraps up all the plot threads from the previous books, from what exactly happened to Luke (he was revealed to be for sure alive in the previous book), to the terrorist plot, to Griffin's sister's murder.

For me, the best part of the book was Griffin and Finley's quest to find his sister Jenna's murderer. While I was curious about Luke's story and how it would resolve, Jenna's murder has been a part of the series since the beginning, and I really wanted to know how it all would resolve. And I must say, that resolution was very satisfying!

This is a series best read from beginning to end, as certain plot lines and relationships build throughout the series. The bonus of starting now is that the series is finished, so you can binge it all at once! 4-1/2 stars.

Buy the book.
Read my reviews of Pettrey's Chesapeake Valor novels Cold Shot (5 stars), Still Life (4 stars), and Blind Spot (4-1/2 stars) and the Alaskan Courage series: Submerged (4-1/2 stars), Shattered (5 stars), Stranded (4-1/2 stars), Silenced (5 stars), Sabotaged (4-1/2 stars).

Dani Pettrey is a wife, home-schooling mom, and the acclaimed author of the romantic suspense Chesapeake Valor series, as well as the well-loved Alaskan Courage series which includes her bestselling novels Submerged, Shattered, Stranded, Silenced, and Sabotaged. She feels blessed to write inspirational romantic suspense because it incorporates so many things she loves–the thrill of adventure, nail biting suspense, the deepening of her characters’ faith, and plenty of romance. She and her husband reside in Maryland, where they enjoy time with their daughters, son-in-law, and super-adorable grandson. Keep up with Dani: Website, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free for review from the author and publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. Also, some of the links in this post are affiliate links. This means if you click on a link and purchase an item, I will receive a small commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...