Monday, April 22, 2019

Review: "Driftwood Bay" by Irene Hannon

Every return to Hope Harbor is like going home. Irene Hannon has created a wonderful town that's always a pleasure to visit—it's the hometown you wish you had.

After tragedy upends her world, Jeannette Mason retreats to the tiny Oregon seaside town of Hope Harbor to create a new life. Vowing to avoid emotional attachments, she focuses on running her lavender farm and tea-room--until a new neighbor with a destructive dog and a forlorn little girl invades her turf. But she needn't worry. Dr. Logan West is too busy coping with an unexpected family, a radical lifestyle change, and an unruly pup to have any interest in his aloof and disagreeable neighbor.

Yet when both Jeanette and Logan find themselves pulled into the life of a tattered Christian family fleeing persecution in war-torn Syria, might they discover that love sometimes comes calling when it's least expected?

Bestselling and award-winning author Irene Hannon invites readers back to the charming seaside town of Hope Harbor, where they are sure to find peace, healing, and a second chance at happiness.

I just love returning to Hope Harbor! This installment focuses on Jeannette, a woman who runs a lavender farm and tea room, her new neighbors Logan and his niece Molly, and a Syrian refugee family recently relocated to Hope Harbor.

I especially loved Jeanette's story. After a devastating loss, she decides life will be easier if she doesn't let anyone in. But when Logan and Molly move in next door, Jeannette can't help but be drawn to the handsome doctor and his grieving young niece. Then she becomes an English tutor for the Syrian refugee family that just moved to Hope Harbor, and it becomes harder and harder to keep herself walled off.

Jeannette's journey to opening her heart again was really touching ... and, at times, heartbreaking. Hannon wrote a truly beautiful story!

Driftwood Bay is a sweet, gentle small-town romance, perfect for fans of the Mitford or Cedar Cove novels. 4-1/2 stars.

Note: While Driftwood Bay is part of the Hope Harbor series, each book stands alone. Some characters carry through the series (like Charley the taco guy and the delightful clergymen Father Murphy and Reverend Baker), and main characters from previous books often pop up again, but each book works as an entry point to the series.

Buy the book. 
Read my reviews of Hannon's Hope Harbor books Hope Harbor (4-1/2 stars), Sea Rose Lane (4 stars), and Pelican Point (4-1/2 stars) and her romantic suspense title Hidden Peril (5 stars).

Irene Hannon is the bestselling author of more than fifty novels, including One Perfect Spring, Hope Harbor, Sea Rose Lane, Sandpiper Cove, and Pelican Point, as well as Dangerous Illusions and the Private Justice and Men of Valor suspense series. Her books have been honored with three coveted RITA Awards from Romance Writers of America, and she is a member of that organization's elite Hall of Fame. Her many other awards include National Readers' Choice, Daphne du Maurier, Retailers' Choice, Booksellers' Best, Carols, and Reviewers' Choice from RT Book Reviews magazine, which also honored her with a Career Achievement award for her entire body of work. In addition, she is a two-time Christy Award finalist. Learn more at

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell through the Revell Reads program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. Also, some of the links in this post are affiliate links. This means if you click on the link and purchase an item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...